Canada Temperance Act.—Under Parts I and II of this Act, provision is made for the prohibition of the sale of intoxicating liquors in counties and cities. The last vote taken under these parts was in the County of Compton, Quebec, on April 28, 1930, in response to a petition for the repeal of the Act in that county. The vote resulted in favour of the repeal, which became effective on June 14, 1930. Part III of the Act relates to penalties and prosecutions, Part IV to the prohibition of the importation and exportation of intoxicating liquors into and from the provinces, while Part V enacts provisions in aid of provincial legislation for the control of the liquor traffic.

Section 8.—The Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The R.C.M. Police is a constabulary maintained by the Dominion Government. When organized in 1873 it was known as the North West Mounted Police; in 1904, its name was changed to the Royal North West Mounted Police and in 1920, to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present, the Minister of Justice) and may be employed anywhere in Canada.

It is primarily responsible for the maintenance of law and order in Yukon, the Arctic regions, the unorganized Northwest Territories and, for a variety of services, for the Dominion Government in all provinces of the Dominion. A large number of the Dominion Departments utilize its service in investigations and in administrative work.

Amongst the many services rendered for the Dominion Government, the repression of the traffic in noxious drugs, the protection of Government buildings and dockyards, the enforcement of Dominion laws and the duties of the Preventive Service for the Department of National Revenue may be mentioned.

Under the R.C.M. Police Act, any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the R.C.M. Police to enforce provincial laws upon payment for its services.

In addition to the Dominion duties referred to, the Force at the present time has agreements with the Provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta, whereby the R.C.M. Police is responsible for the enforcement of the Criminal Code and Provincial Statutes in those provinces.

The Force is divided into 14 divisions of varying strength distributed over the entire country. The term of engagement is 5 years for recruits with re-enlistment for 1 year or 3 years. The officers are commissioned by the Crown.

Recruits are trained at Regina, Saskatchewan. The course of training covers six months and consists of drill, both mounted and foot, and general instructions in police duties. The Force is distributed from Halifax to Vancouver and from Bache Peninsula, on Ellesmere island, in the far north, to the International Boundary between Canada and the United States.